This historic house and National Historic Landmark in Hudson, New York was built in 1811 for local merchant, Samuel Plumb. In 1838, Dr. Oliver Bronson bought the house and brought renowned architect, Alexander Jackson Davis, to transform the estate. Davis gave the house picturesque touches like brackets, bays, and a veranda. Davis also worked with famed landscape architect, Andrew Jackson Downing, for plants and possibly landscape consultation. In 1849, Davis returned to the Bronson House and designed an addition to the west facade. Only a few years later, the Bronsons sold the house and by 1915 it was the New York State Training School for Girls. From 1926 to 1972, the house was used as the superintendent’s residence, after which there were plans to burn it down. Fortunately, in 1973, those plans were halted when the house and outbuildings were listed on the National Register of Historic Places. For decades it lay abandoned until 1997, when Historic Hudson stepped in and began a sustained program of advocacy for the property leading to a designation as a National Historic Landmark in 2003 that included the house, outbuildings and approximately fifty-five surrounding acres of the historic landscape. Since then, Historic Hudson has been making great strides in rehabilitating and preserving the estate with plans of turning it into a public park.
The House was also used in the 2012 film, The Bourne Legacy. Exterior shots were mostly done at the Oliver Bronson House with interior shots using a rebuilt studio version of the house. The rebuilt version was set ablaze for the film
Know Before You Go..
This house is located on prison property and is currently undergoing rehabilitation