Jan van Hoesen (1687-1745) built this house overlooking Claverack Creek in Hudson, New York circa 1720 on land that he had inherited from his grandfather, Jan Franse van Hosesen (1608-1665). Jan’s grandfather was a Dutch immigrant who arrived in New Amsterdam in 1639 and later purchased a tract of land from the Mahican tribe in what is now Hudson, New York.
Jan Van Hoesen was a mariner and a freeholder, meaning he did not have to answer to the king of England or the Van Rensselaer patroons, and given his status, he built a substantial upper-middle-class residence that expressed tastes and prosperity in a northern European manner.
By the 1960s, the house was abandoned when a local businessman acquired the land and developed the adjoining fields into a mobile home park. Following its abandonment, the house fell into terrible disrepair, but in 2005, the Van Hoesen House Historical Foundation was founded when with local citizens gathering to address the house’s deterioration.
“As the most intact remaining example of a type of Dutch architecture unique to the Hudson Valley, the Jan van Hoesen house is significant.”
The house is built of brick around a timber frame on a fieldstone foundation in a style descended from medieval longhouses that were popular in 16th and 17th century Netherlands and northern Europe.
With its steeply pitched roof and parapet–gable, the house is a rare surviving example of a rural house Hudson Valley houses in the first half of the 18th century.